Skip to main content

Adult Services: Home

 

Adult Summer Reading 2017

The Adult Summer Reading Challenge starts now! 


Join in the fun and challenge yourself weekly to read a book from a different genre.  GPL has them all!  from Westerns to Science Fiction, the best Romance to Mysteries! 


Check out our wall of Reader to Reader Recommendations on the second floor of the library.  Feel free to fill out a yellow sticky note to add to our colorful board! 

 

Fill out an Adult Summer Reading Survey and be entered to win a Kindle Fire!

This Just In @ GPL!

Fitness Junkie

When Janey Sweet, CEO of a couture wedding dress company, is photographed in the front row of a fashion show eating a bruffin, he delicious lovechild of a brioche and a muffin, her best friend and business partner, Beau, gives her an ultimatum: Lose thirty pounds or lose your job.

House of Spies

Four months after the deadliest attack on the American homeland since 9/11, terrorists leave a trail of carnage through London's glittering West End. The attack is a brilliant feat of planning and secrecy, but with one loose thread. The thread leads Gabriel Allon and his team of operatives to the south of France and to the gilded doorstep of Jean-Luc Martel and Olivia Watson

Coming of Age

Coming of Age focuses on five years in Mead's young life when she began to question the traditional attitudes toward sex, courtship and marriage that dominated the early 20th century. The story begins in 1921, when Mead is a young woman of twenty and a student at Barnard College in New York City. Conventional enough to accept the role society has handed to her, and defiant enough to rise up against it, she struggles to find her own path.

The Secrets She Keeps

In the bestselling tradition of The Girl on the Train and In a Dark, Dark Wood, from the internationally bestselling author whom Stephen King called "an absolute master" of the psychological thriller, comes a riveting suspense novel about the unlikely friendship between two pregnant women that asks: how far would you go to create the perfect family?

The Cooking Gene

A memoir of Southern cuisine and food culture that traces the paths of the author's ancestors (black and white) through the crucible of slavery to show its effects on our food today.

See What I Have Done

On the morning of August 4, 1892, Lizzie Borden calls out to the maid: Someone's killed father. The brutal axe-murder of Andrew and Abby Borden in their house in Fall River, Massachusetts ignites a series of domestic nightmares. From the outside, no one can understand why anyone would want to murder the respected Bordens. From the inside, sisters Lizzie and Emma have a different tale to tell.

The Netanyahu Years

Benjamin Netanyahu is currently serving his fourth term in office as Prime Minister of Israel, the longest serving Prime Minister in the country's history. Now Israeli journalist Ben Caspit puts Netanyahu's life under a magnifying glass, focusing on hislast two terms in office.

You Can Do Anything

Did you take the right classes in college? Will your major help you get the right job offers? For more than a decade, the national spotlight has focused on science and engineering as the only reliable choice for finding a successful post-grad career. Our destinies have been reduced to a caricature: learn to write computer code or end up behind a counter, pouring coffee. Quietly, though, a different path to success has been taking shape. In YOU CAN DO ANYTHING, George Anders explains the remarkable power of a liberal arts education - and the ways it can open the door to thousands of cutting-edge jobs every week.

Watch Me Disappear

A beautiful Berkeley mom with a radical past vanishes while hiking, leaving her family to piece together her secrets, in this keenly observed novel for readers of Emma Straub and Maria Semple--from the bestselling author o fAll We Ever Wanted Was Everything.

The Unlikelies

Sadie Sullivan's pre-senior year summer changes for the better when she and four other teens band together to right local wrongs, but the Unlikelies and their heady new friendships soon face obstacles that could tear them apart.

The Ministry of Utmost Happiness

A richly moving new novel--the first since the author's Booker Prize-winning, internationally celebrated debut, The God of Small Things, went on to become a beloved best seller and enduring classic. The Ministry of Utmost Happiness transports us across a subcontinent on a journey of many years. It takes us deep into the lives of its gloriously rendered characters, each of them in search of a place of safety--in search of meaning, and of love. 

Reader's Advisory

Reader-focused features such as reading recommendations, series information, book reviews, book jackets, and more.

 

 

 Good Reads: Come meet your next favorite book.

 

 

 A community of over 1,400,000 book lovers.